Davis Comes up Short in Bid for Governorship
As was expected in red state Texas, Republican Greg Abbott, will succeed Rick Perry as Governor of Texas.
Texas State Senator Wendy Davis, mounted a valiant and credible campaign, but Abbott’s vast financial resources and his ties to special interest groups around the state was just too much for Davis to overcome.
Speaking to her supporters once she knew she had not won, The Texas Tribune reported that Davis said, “The only way we will have lost tonight is if we stop fighting. I am so proud of all that we have accomplished.”

Van de Putte Loses Lt. Governor Race
She was poised to make history as Texas first Hispanic Lt. Governor, making 3 campaign trips to Lubbock. But it was not meant to be, as Texas voters selected Republican Dan Patrick to serve as the next Texas Lt. Governor.
Leticia Van de Putte issued the following statement shortly after 9 PM Tuesday evening,
“I am so fortunate and honored to have had so much support from Texans all across the state. I congratulate Dan Patrick on running a disciplined campaign. With the deepest love, I want to thank my supporters, donors, friends, and allies. Above all, I want to thank mi familia. This campaign and my service have always been about securing the future for the next generation, para mis hijos y nietos.
I look forward to continuing to serve my community and this great state. Together we will never stop fighting. We will never stop sharing our dream. And we will never give up on the promise of Texas.”

Republicans also carried Lubbock County by a wide margin. Here are the results from Lubbock County in selected races.

Congressional District 19
Democrat – Neal Marchbanks – 22.96%
Republican – Randy Neugebauer – 71.82%

Lubbock County Judge
Democrat Austin Carrizales – 25.99%
Republican Tom Head – 74.01%

House District 83
Democrat – Max Tarbox – 19.9%
Republican – Dustin Burrows – 80.1%

House District 84
Democrat – Ed Tischler – 27.28%
Republican – John Frullo – 72.72%

Justice of the Peace Precinct 3
Democrat – Aurora Chaides Hernandez – 100%

Email: eleditor@sbcglobal.net